Racial Discrimination: Applicable Laws

Below you will find a list of federal laws that prohibit discrimination on the basis of race in a variety of areas and links to the full texts of those laws. 

Many states have civil rights laws of their own that reflect those of the federal level, so your state may have laws very similar to those that are mentioned below. Likewise, municipalities, like cities and counties can enact ordinances and laws related to civil rights.

  • Civil Rights act of 1964: title VII (equal employment opportunities)
    Prohibits discrimination in employment on the basis of race, color, religion, sex and nationality.
  • Act Equal Credit Opportunity
    Prohibits creditors from discrimination against applicants for credit on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, age, or because the applicant receives income from a public assistance program.
  • Chapter 21, title 42 of the united States Code
    Chapter 21 of title 42 of the united States Code prohibits the discrimination of individuals on the basis of age, disability, sex, race, nationality, and religion (among other things) in a range of areas —including education, employment, access to businesses and buildings, federal services, and more. Chapter 21 encodes several federal laws related to civil rights —including the Civil Rights Act of 1866, the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Civil Rights Act of Institutionalized Persons.
  • Fair Housing act
    Prohibits discrimination in the sale, rental and financing of dwellings based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status and disability.
  • Voting Rights act of 1965
    Prohibits the denial or restriction of the right to vote, and the practices of discriminatory voting changes across the country.
  • Law on Assistance in Case of Disaster and Emergency
    Provides resource assistance fair and impartial, without discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, age, or economic status.