Unpaid Wages For Auto Mechanics – California Labor Laws

[youtube id=”7IGRXSkOnok” width=”600″ height=”340″ position=””]

In the state of California, most mechanics are entitled to overtime pay and must be paid overtime for all hours of work performed beyond 8 hours in a day or 40 hours in a week. However, many employers attempt to misclassify their mechanics as exempt in order to avoid overtime pay. According to California labor code, mechanics are eligible for overtime and these exemptions do not apply.